Home » Cricket » ICC World T20 » ICC World Twenty20 Winners List

ICC World Twenty20 Winners List

The T20 format of cricket has gained popularity rapidly due to the high amount of entertainment provided in the action packed 40 overs of the game. The most prestigious tournament of this format is the Twenty20 World Cup which is held in every two years by ICC. With the 2016 World Cup to be played at India, we take a look back at the teams who have won this prestigious competition.

ICC World Twenty20 winners

Year Host Winner Runner-up Final Match Result
2007 South Africa India Pakistan India won by 5 runs
2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka Pakistan won by 8 wickets
2010 West Indies England Australia England won by 7 wickets
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka West Indies won by 36 runs
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets
2016 India West Indies England West Indies won by 4 wickets

Read more: ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List

2007 World T20 Winner – India

ICC World Twenty20 Winners List.

India won T20 World Cup in 2007

The inaugural ICC T20 World Cup was conquered by India in a tense match against arch rivals Pakistan. The first world twenty20 was held in South Africa as all the teams fought closely before India beat Pakistan by just 5 runs in the final to win the cup. Shahid Afridi of Pakistan though ended on the losing side was named the man of the tournament in this edition.

2009 World T20 Winner – Pakistan

Pakistan won T20 World Cup in 2009.

Pakistan won T20 World Cup in 2009

Pakistan who lost the final of T20 World Cup in 2007 made it to the final of the 2009 season and lifted the cup comfortably by beating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets and 9 balls to spare. Tilakaratne Dilshan who reached new heights during the competition inventing new ways of scoring was the man of the series in 2009. England hosted the second edition of ICC world twenty20.

2010 World T20 Winner – England

England won T20 World Cup in 2010.

England won T20 World Cup in 2010

Third edition of ICC World T20 was played in 2010 at West Indies. England won first ever ICC tournament by defeating Australia convincingly by 7 wickets with 3 over’s to spare in the final match . This was the first ICC cup for England after a long wait. Kevin Petersen played huge role in bringing England to the finals and giving them the title, was named the man of the series in this edition for his contributions.

2012 World T20 Winner – West Indies

West Indies won T20 World Cup in 2012.

West Indies won T20 World Cup in 2012

West Indies who are known to enjoy cricket, were almost tailor made for this format with hard hitters and smart bowlers as the team lifted T20 world cup first time in 2012 which was hosted by Sri Lanka. West Indies who scored only 137 runs won by 36 runs at Colombo and made history by winning the Cup. Though Australia couldn’t make it to the finals, Shane Watson with his consistent all round performance was given the man of the series in 2012.

2014 World T20 Winner – Sri Lanka

Sri-Lanka won T20 World Cup in 2014.

Sri-Lanka won T20 World Cup in 2014

The 2014 season was held in Bangladesh and two sub-continent sides faced each other in the finals. India who had already won the cup in 2007, were playing against Sri Lanka who were in the T20 world cup final for the third time. An energetic Sri Lankan side got the better of the Indian team and beat them comprehensively by 6 wickets and more than 2 overs to spare. However the back bone of the Indian batting line Virat Kohli who notched up 319 runs in the whole tournament, bagged the man of the tournament award but missed out on his second World Cup trophy.

2016 World T20 Winner – ?

The final of the 2016 Twenty20 World Cup will be held at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

One comment

  1. no any reason

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top