CONMEBOL announced Argentina-Colombia Copa America 2020 hosts
Copa America

Argentina-Colombia to host 12 Teams Copa America in 2020

Argentina and Colombia will be hosting CONMEBOL’s premium football championship Copa America 2020 edition. Both countries have been awarded tournament hosting duties that comes with new challenge as the competition will be played under new format.

CONMEBOL announced Argentina-Colombia Copa America 2020 hosts
CONMEBOL announced Argentina-Colombia Copa America 2020 hosts

As per new format, there will be 38 matches to be played among 12 teams participating in the championship. Ten CONMEBOL member-teams will be competing in the competition along with two guest teams will be invited to take part in the Copa America 2020.

Teams will be categorized into two groups based on North region and South region. The main motto to introduce this is to attract football fans geographically to the matches.

“The core objective of this change was to make it easier for fans to get geographically closer to the matches,” CONMEBOL President Mr. Alejandro Dominguez said in a release.

From onwards 2020, Copa America will be taking place in even years and it will be played as the same year as of UEFA Euro Championship. This year’s Copa America is the last edition which will be played in an odd year. Brazil is hosting the 2019 Copa America compromising 10 CONMEBOL members and two invited teams Qatar and Japan.

Copa America 2020 edition will be the 47th edition of prestigious soccer tournament that is scheduled to take place between 12 June and 12 July. Top four teams from both groups will qualify for quarter-finals.
buy amitriptyline online no prescription


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *