Australia cricket team jersey for champions trophy 2017
ICC Champions Trophy

Australia Squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017 announced

Cricket Australia have announced the 15-member squad for upcoming ICC Champions Trophy 2017. Steven Smith will be leading two time Champions Trophy winner in 8th edition of championship starting from 1st June in England.

Australia cricket team jersey for champions trophy 2017
Australia cricket team jersey for champions trophy 2017

Mitchell Starc and Chris Lynn have been included in the Australian side though both players have been recovering from respective foot and shoulder injuries. Aussies to play their first game of tournament on 2nd June, hence there is a lot of time for these two to get fit and back into the action.

Australia’s selector Trevor Hohns told to that CA’s medical team is looking at both cricketers injuries and hopefully they get fit before 18th May. He said, “Our medical staff will continue to monitor Mitchell and Chris’ recovery from their respective injuries, but we are hopeful they will be fit in time for the team’s departure on May 18.”

Surprisingly all-rounder James Faulkner is dropped from the ODI squad. James was man of the match in 2015 world cup final which was won by Australia. Selector Hohns mentioned that it is very tough decision to drop player like Faulkner but fully fit Cummins, Pattinson and John Hastings are ahead in our selection radar.

“James (Faulkner) has been a consistent performer for the one-day squad for several years, however with players such as Pattinson, Cummins and Hastings coming back to full fitness and the emergence of Marcus Stoinis, James was squeezed out of the squad and is an unlucky omission”, Trevor said.

Aaron Finch is also included in the Australia side and will be seen at the top of the order with David Warner to open the innings. Moises Henriques has been doing great in the season and he has been playing well for Sunrisers Hyderbad in Vivo Indian Premier League. Hence he’ll be key player in the lineup as a batsman and bowler.

“Moises finished off the domestic season very well and has had a great start in the Indian Premier League. We believe Moises’ batting has improved significantly in the past six months and he will provide us with a strong option should he be selected.”

Let’s have a look at the complete Australian roster for 2017 champions trophy.

Australia Squad for Champions Trophy 2017

  1. Steve Smith (Captain)
  2. David Warner
  3. Aaron Finch
  4. John Hastings
  5. Josh Hazlewood
  6. Travis Head
  7. Moises Henriques
  8. Glenn Maxwell
  9. Marcus Stoinis
  10. James Pattinson
  11. Pat Cummins
  12. Matthew Wade
  13. Chris Lynn
  14. Mitchell Starc
  15. Adam Zampa

What you think about Australia’s squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017? Do you think Australia can win CT17? Share thoughts in comment section.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *