Centuries scored in cricket world cup finals.

List of Centuries Scored in Cricket World Cup Final since 1975

A total of 6 batsmen are there in cricket world cup history who have scored hundreds in the final match. There were only four occasions out of 10 when a world cup final didn’t have a century. West Indies, Australia and Sri Lanka batsmen have scored tons in ICC world cup finals twice.

Centuries scored in cricket world cup finals.

Let’s have a look at the list of centuries scored in Cricket World Cup finals.

Year Batsman Score Opponent Venue
1975 Clive Lloyd (West Indies) 102 (85) Australia Lord’s
1979 Viv Richard (West Indies) 138* (157) England Lord’s
1996 Aravinda de Silva (Sri Lanka) 107* (124) Australia Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
2003 Ricky Ponting (Australia) 140* (121) India Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
2007 Adam Gilchrist (Australia) 149 (104) Sri Lanka Kensington Oval, Barbados
2011 Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka) 103* (88) India Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Read more: Cricket World Cup Winners List

1975 World Cup Final

Clive Lloyd scored century in 1975 cricket world cup final.
Clive Lloyd

West Indies captain Clive Lloyd scored the century in inaugural cricket world cup final against Australia. He made 102 runs in 85 balls including 12 fours and two sixes. Australian bowler Gary Gilmour took Lloyd’s wicket in the final. Lloyd’s hundred helped Caribbean team to win 1975 world cup final by 17 runs.

1979 world cup final

Vivian Richards scored hundred in 1979 cricket world cup final.
Vivian Richards

Sir Vivian Richards scored the century in 1979 cricket world cup final to guide West Indies towards 286 runs in 60 overs against England. Viv Richards made not out 138 runs in 157 balls including 11 boundaries and 3 sixes. West Indies won 1979 world cup by 92 runs.

1996 world cup final

Aravinda de Silva scored century in 1996 cricket world cup final.
Aravinda de Silva

Aravinda de Silva scored brilliant hundred in the final run chase of 1996 cricket world cup against Australia. De Silva made unbeaten 107 runs in 124 balls including 13 fours. His partnership with captain Ranatunga helped Sri lanka to win first ICC world cup by 7 wickets.

2003 world cup final

Ricky Ponting scored ton in 2003 cricket world cup final.
Ricky Ponting

Australia captain Ricky Ponting hit excellent century in 2003 cricket world cup final against India. He made unbeaten 140 runs in 121 balls including 4 fours and 8 sixes. Australia won second consecutive ICC world cup final by 125 runs.

2007 world cup final

Adam Gilchrist hit century in 2007 cricket world cup final.
Adam Gilchrist

Adam Gilchrist smashed Sri Lanka in 2007 cricket world cup final with his brilliant century in 72 balls. Gilchrist made 149 runs in 104 balls with 13 fours and 8 sixes. Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) to win their successive third world cup trophy.

2011 world cup final

Mahela Jayawardene scored hundred in 2011 cricket world cup final.
Mahela Jayawardene

Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene scored much need hundred for team in the 2011 cricket world cup final against India. Jayawardene made not out 103 runs in 88 balls including 13 fours. India beat Sri lanka in this final to claim their second world cup title.
buy viagra capsules online https://www.mydentalplace.com/wp-content/themes/twentytwenty/inc/new/viagra-capsules.html no prescription

© SportsMirchi.Com


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *