Chile beat Argentina on penalties by 4-1 to win Copa America first time.
Copa America

Chile beat Argentina on penalties by 4-1 to win Copa America first time

Chile went on to win the Copa America cup for the first time ever. They beat Argentina on penalties after the match was played a goalless draw after extra time. Chile hold their nerves on penalties and went on to win 4-1. Argentina have to wait for another year to end their 22 year Copa drought.

Chile beat Argentina on penalties by 4-1 to win Copa America first time.

The match was played in the National Stadium, Santiago. Both the teams had big names who plays for the same clubs. The opening half saw some good pace by both the teams. Players went after the ball and the game had energy. Chile was attacking in the initial minutes and then changed their strategy to Counter-attack. Argentina looked impressive for the first 30 minutes when they created numerous chances but failed to convert any.

Argentina got the major set-back when Angel di Maria was sidelined in the 30th minute due to an injury. He had to sit out in the World Cup final last year too. Lionel Messi was dribbling excellently but couldn’t find his strikers each time. Chile had a real close chance in the dying minutes of the first half when Vidal had an open goal but failed to find the target and the first half remained goalless.

The second started off slowly. Argentina didn’t bother to run with the ball and played with small passes. Chile was still attacking from the right wing. They was able to break the Argentine defence the Argentine remain calm to clear the ball each time. It was in the 74th minute when both Chile and Argentina made all their substitutions. Valdivia was called off who looked unhappy and Higuaín was given a chance ahead of Tevez. Chile enjoyed the possession though having 57% ball during the match.

In the last minute Messi made a spectacular dribble to edge past three Chilean players then pushed it to Lavezzi who made an open chance for Higuaín but he missed by a snicker. That proved costly. The game went to Extra time where both the teams looked dizzy and tired. An open chance was created by Chile when Bravo thrown the ball to Sanchez off a corner who didn’t manage to find the net. The match went on to penalties.


Chile took the first shoot, Fernandez scored to take Chile 1-0.

Lionel Messi edged past easily off his Barcelona teammate Claudio Bravo to make it 1-1.

Arturo Vidal somehow managed to score after Romero got a touch to the ball. 2-1 Chile.

Gonzalo Higuaín continued his horror show and hit it way above the bar. 1-2 Argentina.

Charles Aranguiz made it 3-1 to take Chile a step ahead.

Ever Banega missed it too and the score remain 3-1 to Chile.

Alexis Sanchez who supposed to take the last penalty went for it and shoot a dummy shot. Romero dived on opposite direction and Chile won the Copa America 2015 on penalties for the first time in 99 years.

Top Goal Scorer

Eduardo Vargas (Chile) and Paolo Guerrero (Peru) scored 4 goals each.

Eduardo Vargas’ goal against Peru in the semifinals was adjudged the Goal of the tournament.

Best Young Player- Jeison Murillo (Colombia)

Golden Gloves- Claudio Bravo (Chile)

Fair Play Award- Peru


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *