Home » Football » Copa America 2019 Brazil » Copa America 2019 Schedule, Dates, Teams, Venues

Copa America 2019 Schedule, Dates, Teams, Venues

The 46th edition of Copa America has been scheduled to host in South American country Brazil in June 2019. The quadrennial men’s international football tournament will run from 14 June to 7 July. A total of 12 teams will be taking on each other to become champion.

2019 Copa America Details in Brief

Host nation: Brasil

Dates: 14 June to 7 July

Teams: 12

Venues: 6

Matches: TBC

Title Defenders: Chile

Copa America 2019 Brasil logo

Copa America 2019 Brasil logo

Host Selection

Originally the 2019 Copa America was scheduled to be hosted by Chile but due to CONMEBOL’s rotation policy of events hosting in alphabetical order, Chilean federation was awarded 2015 Copa America while Brazil awarded 2019 season.

It will be last occasion when a Copa America championship be played during odd year. From now it will hold in even years and to be hosted in the same year that of UEFA European Championship.


There are 12 participating national soccer teams in the 46th Copa America in which 10 are CONMEBOL national teams meanwhile two are invited from Asian Football Federation (AFC). At the initial stage, it was planed to have 16 countries in the competition including three from CONCACAF and same from AFC. But at last South American federation invited two AFC teams Qatar and Japan.

It will be first time when an Arab country be playing in Copa America meanwhile Japan will be featuring in the 2019 Copa America after long time since 1999. Also it will be first occasion when there is no CONCACAF team participating in the American competition. Chile football team is the title defending champion in 46th Copa America.

Chile beat Argentina on penalties by 4-1 to win Copa America first time.

The list of teams for Copa America 2019 are:

  1. Brazil
  2. Argentina
  3. Chile
  4. Bolivia
  5. Colombia
  6. Ecuador
  7. Japan
  8. Paraguay
  9. Qatar
  10. Peru
  11. Uruguay
  12. Venezuela

Read More: VAR to be used in 2019 Copa America


Five Brazilian cities  Sao Paulo, Salvador, Rio de Janeiro, Belo Horizonte and Porto Alegre to host the 12-team Copa America. The list of six stadiums in 5 cities are:

  1. Maracana Stadium (Rio, Capacity: 74,750)
  2. Arena Fonte Nova (Salvador, Capacity: 52,000)
  3. Mineirao Stadium (Belo Horizonte, Capacity: 58,200)
  4. Allianz Parque (Sao Paulo, Capacity: 43,725)
  5. Morumbi Stadium (Sao Paulo, Capacity: 67,425)
  6. Arena De Gremio (Porto Alegre, Capacity: 55,660)


The opening match of Copa America 2019 is scheduled to play on June 14 in Sao Paulo. Final to take place on 7th July in Rio De Janerio.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top