VAR to be used in Copa America 2019 Brazil
Copa America

Copa America 2019: VAR Introduced, Qatar to debut in Brazil

Video Assistant Referee (VAR) technology is all set to make debut in South American flagship football event Copa America next year. VAR got huge success during 2018 world cup in Russia. Hence CONMEBOL decides to introduce it in CA.

The South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) also announced that the Copa America of Brazil 2019 will include the participation of 12 teams. The first ten will be from the continent and the two remaining to come from the Asian Football Confederation. Qatar football team to make their debut in Copa America next year meanwhile Japan returns to the event after 1999.

Copa America 2019 Brasil logo

President of CONMEBOL Alejandro Dominguez said, “We welcome again the selection of Japan, with whose association we are united by a close bond of friendship and relationship and, for the first time, we will have the participation of the selection of Qatar, which will host the FIFA World Cup 2022.”

Copa America 2019 will be the 46th edition of this tournament, the main football competition between selections in South America and the oldest in the world that will take place between June 6 and 30, 2019. Organized by Conmebol , the tournament will be held for the fifth time in Brazil (the last was in 1989).

The Chilean National Team is the current champion of tournament as they won Copa America Centenario after winning the final against Argentina.

In April of 2017, the decision was made that this edition would have 16 participants, so the organizers had to define 6 teams from other continents that would arrive as invited to the tournament; however, on May 4, 2018 it was announced that there would be 12 participants, after having invited Qatar and Japan.

The venue for 2019 corresponds to Brazil, remembering that it would originally host the 2015 Copa America but that it finally exchanged the quota with Chile. Brazil had already hosted the 2013 Confederations Cup, the 2014 World Cup and the 2016 Olympic Games, events that made him reconsider the initial plan for the Cup.
buy prednisone online no prescription

There will be eight stadiums in seven cities available for the games: Mineirao de Belo Horizonte, Fonte Nova de Salvador, Mané Garrincha of Brasilia, Castelao de Fortaleza, Beira Rio de Porto Alegre, Maracaná de Rio de Janeiro and Corinthians Arena and Allianz Parque de Sao Paul. The first seven scenarios repeat with respect to the FIFA World Cup four years ago.

They will apply the VAR

The Conmebol will have the system of the Assistant Video Referee (VAR) in the Copa America to be held in Brazil in 2019. Copa America Brazil 2019 will be held in almost 11 months, but the details of the tournament are already being refined. The first was the confirmation of the participating teams, which this time will be 12, since the representations of Japan and Qatar will be added, invited from the continent of Asia.

See more: Copa America Champions List

However, that will not be the only novelty, as it was confirmed that the most important tournament in South America will have the technology of the Assistant Video Referee (VAR). The results obtained from this system in the 2018 World Cup Russia, the first major tournament in which it was used, were more than remarkable and this is due to its continuity.

VAR to be used in Copa America 2019 Brazil
VAR to be used in Copa America 2019 Brazil

In the same way, the CONMEBOL Competitions Department confirmed that the Copa América will be held between Friday 7 and Sunday 30 June in Brazil. The venues and fixture are not yet known, but the organization of the tournament will confirm the information in the coming months.

In addition, it will not be the first time that the VAR is used in South America, since last season it was used in international club tournaments. This year will not be different, since from the quarterfinals of the Copa Libertadores and South American this year will also have the use of the Assistant Video Referee.

Participating countries

The South American Confederation had planned this edition with 16 participating teams that were later reduced to 12, with two guests from Asia. The countries confirmed to participate in the Copa America Cup are: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela, Qatar and Japan.

Through its website, the governing body of football, South American reported that the continental contest “will involve the participation of twelve national teams in total, including the two guests of the Asian Football Confederation who confirmed their participation: the national teams of the Japan and Qatar. ”

Winner of this tournament will eligible to play FIFA Confederations Cup 2021.



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *