Home » Football » FIFA World Cup » FIFA World Cup 2022 Qatar

FIFA World Cup 2022 Qatar

The 22nd edition of FIFA World Cup is also popular as 2022 FIFA World Cup or Football World Cup 2022. Qatar will host the competition from 21 November to 18 December 2022. A total of 32 men’s national teams from 6 confederations to participate in the event. This is the special edition in tournament history as it will be first occasion when FIFA world championship will be played in winter season.

FIFA World Cup 2022 Qatar Official logo

FIFA World Cup 2022 logo

Host Selection

Originally 11 countries were interested to host the prestigious football world cup championship but as time progresses only five nations Australia, Qatar, Japan, South Korea and United States bid to host the event. In total 4 rounds bid process, Qatar won the rights to host 2022 FIFA world cup with 14 votes to United States’ 8.

Official Emblem

The official emblem of Qatar world cup was revealed on 3rd September 2019 at Qatar’s capital Doha.

Teams Qualification

Qatar was the first team to qualify for FIFA world cup 2022 as they will host the tournament. The qualification process for other teams haven’t been announced yet.


32-teams will be playing in 2022 world cup. Being hosts, Qatar qualified for the world cup.

  1. Qatar
  2. Germany
  3. Denmark
  4. Brazil

Read more: World Cup 2022 Teams


A total of 12 venues are originally picked to host the event but the number can be reduced to 8. The proposed and expected venues to host 2022 FIFA world cup are:

  1. Lusail Iconic Stadium (Lusail)
  2. Al Thumama Stadium (Doha)
  3. Al Bayt Stadium (Al Khor)
  4. Khalifa International Stadium (Doha)
  5. Education City Stadium (Doha)
  6. Ras Abu Aboud Stadium (Doha)
  7. Al Janoub Stadium (Al Wakrah)
  8. Al Rayyan Stadium (Al Rayyan)


To be announced in near future.


The first match of 22nd Football world cup will be played on 21 November. Tournament will conclude on 18 December with a final match.


The fixtures of 2022 world cup will be announced in due course.

Broadcasting Rights

Country Broadcaster
Australia SBS
Brazil SporTV, Rede Globo
Canada TSN, CTV, RDS
Caribbean Sportsmax, International Media Content
India Sony Six
Europe European Broadcasting Union
Germany ZDF, ARD
Middle East beIN Sports
Portugal RTP
Spain MediaPro
United Kingdom ITV, BBC
United States Fox, Telemundo
Qatar Qatar Television

Read More: World Cup 2022 broadcasters list

Who will win 22nd edition of FIFA World Cup? Share your views in comments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top