South Africa beat Bangladesh at T20 World Cup 2021
Cricket News

IND vs SA 2022: Bavuma to captain 17-men South Africa ODI squad

South Africa all-rounder Marco Jansen has received his maiden call-up to the ODI squad for the three-match series against India, starting from January 19 in Paarl.

South Africa beat Bangladesh at T20 World Cup 2021

Jansen had recently made his Test debut against India in the first Test at SuperSport Park, taking 4/55 in second innings and held some resistance with the bat in the first innings.
buy azithromycin online no prescription

Cricket South Africa (CSA), while announcing the 17-man squad on Sunday, also said that pacer Anrich Nortje will not take part in the ODI series as he hasn’t recovered from the hip injury which kept him out of the Tests against India and will continue with the rehabilitation.

“This is a very exciting group and the Selection Panel and I are eager to see what they will produce. For many of our players, it does not get bigger than playing against this powerhouse Indian team and this will be the biggest series of their young lives so far. We are looking forward to seeing what they bring to the table and wish Temba (Bavuma) and Mark (Boucher) all the best for the series,” said Victor Mpitsang, CSA Convenor of Selectors in a statement.

From the ODI series against the Netherlands, which was cut short due to the emergence of Omicron variant of COVID-19, Wayne Parnell, Ryan Rickelton, Sisanda Magala and Zubayr Hamza retain their spots in the squad while all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius makes a comeback in the ODI scheme of things.

The three-match ODI series between South Africa and India is a part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League. India are fifth in the standings with 49 points while South Africa are ninth with 39 points. Each team gets ten points for winning a match while five points are awarded for a tie or no result or abandoned match.

Squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Keshav Maharaj (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Zubayr Hamza, Marco Jansen, Janneman Malan, Sisanda Magala, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen and Kyle Verreynne.

Press Release, Source: IANS


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *