Home » Cricket » Indian squad for 2016 Australia tour to be declared on 19 December

Indian squad for 2016 Australia tour to be declared on 19 December

Team India for Australia tour 2016 will be announced on 19 December in Delhi. Men in Blue are scheduled to play Aussies for 5 One-day Internationals and 3 Twenty20s on their home soil from 12 to 31 January. Former cricketer Sandeep Patil will head the selection committee. MS Dhoni is expected to be retained as the skipper of side in limited-overs cricket.

On Wednesday, a cricket board member in Mumbai said, “The squad for Australia would be selected (by the selection committee headed by Sandeep Patil) at Delhi on December 19th.”

India lost home T20I and ODI series against South Africa and the reports were rumored that Virat Kohli may be appointed as the captain in limited overs too for Australian tour. But as per reports, BCCI is not planning to change the captain ahead of crucial world t20 championship on home soil in March-April 2016.

In the last Australian tour, India lost Border-Gavaskar trophy and MS Dhoni took retirement from Test cricket in between the series. After it Virat kohli was named India’s captain in tests. India also failed to reach the final of tri-series earlier this year in Australia featuring England the third nation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top