India squad for hockey champions trophy 2018

Indian Squad for Hockey Champions Trophy 2018 Announced

The Indian hockey’s 18-member roster for upcoming Champions Trophy 2018 is announced. Experienced players Sardar Singh, Ramandeep Singh and Birendra Lakra are returning to the national team. These three players were dropped by former coach Sjoerd Marijne ahead of Commonwealth Games where India didn’t win any medal.

India squad for hockey champions trophy 2018
India squad for hockey champions trophy 2018

Trio Birendra, Ramandeep and Sardar are coming back in the side after new coach Harendra Singh’s appointment. Goalkeeper PR Sreejesh will be leading Indian team in the Champions Trophy. Defender Jarmanpreet Singh will make debut for national team. India to play the blockbuster opening match against Pakistan on 23rd June.

Indian team won silver medal in the last edition of hockey champions trophy in which Sreejesh lead the national team. Hence it would be nicer to see again Sreejesh captaining Blue army. Indian skipper is exited to lead India again in the tournament and this time for Gold medal.

He said, “I think that was the closest we came to winning the Gold and most importantly beating Australia. Though we had to settle for a second place, it was a memorable tournament. This time too, we want to make it a memorable one as it’s the last edition of the prestigious event.”

This is going to be a crucial event for Indian team in prospects of seeing that in November-December we have FIH Hockey World Cup. Coach Harendra Singh understands the importance of this Champions Trophy. He said it would be an ideal time for us to look at how our preparations are going on for world cup.
buy clomid online buy clomid generic

“While this team will be put to test against another Asian powerhouse Pakistan who we will face in the Asian Games, Rabobank Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy Breda 2018 will provide the ideal platform to see where we stand against higher ranked teams like Australia, Belgium, The Netherlands and Argentina in the lead up to the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018,” Harendra Singh said.

Let’s have a look at the complete Indian squad for HCT 2018 in Netherlands.

India Squad for Hockey Champions Trophy 2018

Goalkeepers Defenders Midfielders Forwards
Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran (c) Harmanpreet Singh Sardar Singh Mandeep Singh
Krishan Bahadur Pathak Varun Kumar Manpreet Singh Ramandeep Singh
Amit Rohidas Vivek Sagar Prasad Dilpreet Singh
Surender Kumar Chinglensana Singh Kangujam Sunil Sowmarpet Vitalacharya
Jarmanpreet Singh Sumit Kumar (Jr.)
Birendra Lakra Akashdeep Singh

Will this Indian team win 2018 hockey champions trophy? Share your thoughts in the comment area.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *