Australia football logo photo
Copa America

It’s confirm, Socceroos to play 2020 Copa America

Australia have confirmed their participation for the next year’s Copa America and they’re invited team alongside Qatar for the South American football tournament. The confirmation of Socceroos participation in 2020 Copa America came just before one day of the start of 2019 tournament in Brazil.

Australia football logo photo
Australia football logo

South American governing body CONMEBOL president Alejandro Dominguez was delighted to announce the participation of Australia and Qatar football teams at Copa America in Argentina and Colombia as both Asian countries are champions of the region and having such teams in the competition, makes the tournament competitive.

“We have decided to invite … to participate in our competitions the current Asian confederation champions and the previous ones. Qatar are the last champions of the Asian confederation — having champions participating in a competition always elevates the prestige and quality of football,” Alejandro Dominguez said.

Qatar is the host of 2022 world cup and it will be a huge opportunity for them to showcase their skills during 2019 and 2020 Copa America events. Australian football national team head coach Graham Arnold knows the importance of playing in this South America soccer event and he believes it will help players a lot to learn ahead of 2022 world cup.

“The Copa América is a highlight of the football calendar and we can’t wait to get there. We crave these opportunities as players and coaches.
buy furosemide online no prescription
The experience we will gain from playing in this tournament will be incredible and I know by speaking to our players, they are equally excited about being part of one of the world’s most prestigious football tournaments,” Arnold said.

Next year’s Copa America will be played with different format as all participating 12 teams are categorized into two groups on the basis of their region North and South.
buy flexeril online no prescription
Socceroos and Qatar to share these two groups apart. Ten South American teams compete in the Copa America along side two guest teams invited for the championship.

From 2020, Copa America will be played in the same year as UEFA Euro play and it will happen in every 4 years.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *