Pakistan Cricket Team at ICC World Twenty20.
T20 World Cup

Pakistan Cricket Team at ICC World Twenty20

Pakistan cricket team are one of the best performers in International Cricket Council’s main events. They have got good track record in the ICC world cup of shortest format of game. Pakistan won 2009 ICC World Twenty20 by defeating Sri Lanka and were runners-up in the inaugural edition of tournament in 2007.

Pakistan Cricket Team at ICC World Twenty20.
2009 ICC World Twenty20 winning Pakistan Team

Records & Facts

(1.) Ahmed Shehzad is the only Pakistani cricketer who has scored century in an ICC World T20 competition. He scored unbeaten 111 runs in 2014 twenty20 world cup against Bangladesh. It was the first occasion when a Pakistani batsman hit century in T20 internationals as well.

(2.) Shahid Afridi holds the record of having most number of ducks in ICC t20 world cup along with Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan. Both batsmen dismissed 5 times without scoring single run.

(3.) Afridi was awarded Man of The Match in the final of 2009 world cup as he took one wicket and scored 54 runs in 40 balls.

(4.) Saeed Ajmal holds the record of most four wickets in an innings. He has taken 4 wickets in a match on three occasions.

(5.) Most dismissals as wicket-keeper record goes to Kamran Akmal. He played crucial role to dismiss 30 players as he did 18 stumping and took 12 catches from 2007 to 2014.

(6.) Pakistan have never won against arch rivals India in ICC World Twenty20s in played 4 matches.

Read more: T20 world cup winners list


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *