Rugby World Cup Winners, Runners-up List.

Rugby World Cup Winners, Runners-up List

Rugby sport’s international governing body “World Rugby” organizes World Cup tournament in ever four years span time. The first Rugby World Cup was played in 1987 which was hosted by Australia and New Zealand jointly. Hosts New Zealand won the inaugural edition of world cup by defeating France in the final match played at Eden Park, Auckland.

Rugby World Cup Winners, Runners-up List.

Till date nine Rugby World Cup tournaments have been played and 10th edition of prestigious event is scheduled to host in France in 2023. New Zealand and South Africa are the most successful teams as they have won three titles apiece so far.

Australia won rugby world cup on two occasions. England succeeds to win only one time.

The recent RWC final was played in Japan between England and South Africa which was won by Springboks.

Let’s have a look at the complete list of Rugby World Cup Champions so far.

Rugby World Cup Winners

Year Winner Runner-up Score Final Venue
1987 New Zealand France 29-9 Eden Park, Auckland
1991 Australia England 12-6 Twickenham Stadium, London
1995 South Africa New Zealand 15-12 Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg
1999 Australia France 35-12 Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
2003 England Australia 20-17 Telstra Stadium, Sydney
2007 South Africa England 15-6 Stade de France, Saint-Denis
2011 New Zealand France 8-7 Eden Park, Auckland
2015 New Zealand Australia 34-17 Twickenham Stadium, London
2019 South Africa England 32-12 International Stadium Yokohama, Japan

World Cup Win by Countries

Country Number of Titles
New Zealand 3
South Africa 3
Australia 2
England 1


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *