West Indies cricket team at ICC World Twenty20.
T20 World Cup

West Indies cricket team at ICC World Twenty20

West Indies team reached to the final of ICC World T20 only on one occasion and they got success to claim the title. They are the champions of 2012 ICC World Twenty20 championship as defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs in the final match played at Colombo.

West Indies cricket team at ICC World Twenty20.
2012 ICC World T20 Winning West Indies team

Records & Facts

(1.) Chris Gayle is the only centurion for West Indies in Twenty20 World Cups as he played 117 runs inning against South Africa in 57 balls at Johannesburg.

(2.) Chris Gayle holds the record of hitting most number of sixes in the competition as he has hit 49 sixes till now. He also hit 10 sixes against South Africa in 2007, and this is the maximum number of sixes in a ICC World T20 match.

(3.) In 2012 world cup win, Marlon Samuels was awarded Man of the Match for his brilliant 78 runs and 1 wicket in the final match.

(4.) Henry Gayle is the leading run scorer for West Indies in ICC World Twenty20s as he’s scored 807 runs in played 23 matches.

(5.) Dwayne Bravo is the most successful bowler for Caribbean team in t20 world cup history as has taken 16 wickets till now.

Read more: Champions of ICC World Twenty20s


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *