Home » Cricket » Test Cricket » Harbhajan surpasses Akram to get 9th spot in highest test wicket takers list

Harbhajan surpasses Akram to get 9th spot in highest test wicket takers list

Indian spinner Harbhajan Singh has enjoyed the return to international cricket after 2 years as in his returning match he has achieved a milestone. Harbhajan is now become 9th highest wicket taker in test match cricket and he overtakes Pakistan’s former swing bowler Wasim Akram. Wasim played 104 matches to get 414 wickets whereas Harbhajan took 2 matches less than Akram to break his record.

Harbhajan surpasses Akram to get 9th spot in highest test wicket takers list.

Harbhajan Singh was selected for the only test match on Bangladesh tour and in rain affected test, he took 3 wickets in the first innings of home team. Before this match Harbhajan had 413 wickets n his bag and was placed at the 10th spot in the list of highest wicket takers. But in the first innings of Bangladesh, he dismissed Mominul Haque to equalize the record with Wasim.

After this he took wicket of Imrul Kayes who was batting on 72. As Bhaji dismissed Imrul, he broke Wasim’s 414 wickets record and now becomes ninth bowler in world test cricket who has maximum wickets. Harbhajan took one more wicket in the match as he dismissed Mohammad Shahid. Bhaji has got 416 wickets in test cricket now.

Sri Lanka’s Muttiah Muralitharan is at the top spot in the leading test wicket takers list with 800 wickets.
buy cytotec online https://www.facebeautyscience.com/wp-content/themes/twentytwentyone/inc/new/cytotec.html no prescription

Australian Shane Warne is a second spot in the table with 708 wickets and India’s Anil Kumble stands at 3rd position with 619 wickets. The another Indian bowler in the top 10 highest wicket takers in Test matches is Kapil Dev who is at 6th position with 434 wickets.

List of Leading Test wicket takers

No. Player Matches Wickets
1 Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) 133 800
2 Shane Warne (Australia) 145 708
3 Anil Kumble (India) 132 619
4 Glenn McGrath (Australia) 124 563
5 Courtney Walsh (West Indies) 132 519
6 Kapil Dev (India) 131 434
7 Sir Richard Hadlee (New Zealand) 86 431
8 Shaun Pollock (South Africa) 108 421
9 Harbhajan Singh (India) 102 416
10 Wasim Akram (Pakistan) 104 414

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top