Tata IPL Trophy
Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League Winners, Runners-Up List

One of the biggest twenty20 cricket leagues, Indian Premier League was introduced in 2008 to boost young local talent in the country. The final of inaugural IPL edition was played between Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings in which Rajasthan defeated Chennai to become champion. Since then 15 seasons have been concluded successfully.

Tata IPL Trophy
Photo: Tata IPL Trophy

Mumbai Indians is the most successful team of Indian Premier League as they won IPLT20 championship on 5 occasions. CSK have also won 4 IPL trophies. Kolkata Knight Riders have won IPL two times.

Let’s have a look at the complete list of IPL winners from season one.

IPL Winners, Runners-up List

Year Winner Runner-Up Result
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings RR won by 3 wickets
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore DC won by 6 runs
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians CSK won by 22 runs
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore CSK won by 58 runs
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings KKR won by 5 wickets
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings MI won by 23 runs
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab KKR won by 3 wickets
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings MI won by 41 runs
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore SRH won by 8 runs
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiant MI won by 1 run
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad CSK won by 8 wickets
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings MI won by 1 run
2020 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals MI won by 5 wickets
2021 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders CSK won by 27 runs
2022 Gujarat Titans Rajasthan Royals GT won by 7 wickets

What do you think who will win next Indian Premier League edition in 2023? Share your thoughts in the comment section.



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *