Brazil to use Facial recognition technology at 2019 Copa America
Copa America

Brazil: Facial recognition technology to be used at Copa America 2019

Football fans to go through facial recognition technology before heading towards stadiums for 2019 Copa America matches as Brazil is set to use technology for tightening security in the tournament. Six stadiums in 5 cities will be hosting the 46th edition of South American football championship.

Brazil to use Facial recognition technology at 2019 Copa America
Brazil to use Facial recognition technology at 2019 Copa America.

“We are going to be able to restrict the access of unwanted people (to stadiums),” Copa America security coordinator Hilario Medeiros said as per local report.

One of the Copa America 2019 venues, Fonte Nova Arena in Salvador has already installed the facial recognition system and it’s trial was done in March when annual carnival celebration took place. Rio de Janeiro, Sao Paulo, Belo Horizonte and Port Alegre are the other venues where facial recognition system will be installed.

What is Facial Recognition System?

A facial recognition system (FRS) is a technology used to identify and verify a person from either a digital frame or a video frame from a video source. In simple words, FRS is a biometric software that maps a person’s facial features and shape by analysing patterns.

The technology will use a good number of cameras to be installed in the stadiums as well as around the grounds to ensure no loop whole in the security.
buy antabuse online buy antabuse no prescription
These video cameras will take real time images of people around the stadium and transmit to the control room where operators will share and track the data with the police database whenever required.

Tournament’s security coordinator also mentioned that security forces would cooperate with interpol and international law enforcement agencies to make sure database of fans will be built and it must be observed at least once.

CONMEBOL’s flagship Copa America set to be held from 14 June to 7 July this summer and 12 teams to compete for the trophy.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *