Tata IPL Trophy

The 2023 IPL is Coming Up – Here’s What You Need to Know

Cricket is by far the most popular sport in India, so it’s no surprise that the men’s T20 franchise cricket league, IPL, attracts thousands of attendees annually. As a matter of fact, the IPL is the most attended cricket league in the world.

Are you curious about what the Indian Premier League has to offer? Lucky for you, we’ve compiled a thorough guide about everything you need to know about the IPL. And if you wish to add some extra excitement to the league, you can always claim a bet365 IPL bonus and bet on the outcomes you think are most likely! 

Indian Premier League format and schedule

Since the IPL was first created in 2008, it has become one of the most popular leagues in the world. The IPL is an annual spring event in India, and this year’s edition starts on Friday, March 31, and ends on Sunday, May 28!

The league is based on the T20 format for cricket teams and players. It’s divided into ten games and two groups with five skilled teams in each. The first games are played at the league levels, and then the top four teams advance to the playoffs, whereas the best team qualifies for the final game in the second round. The loser, however, gets a second chance for the final, where the remaining teams meet in an elimination round, and the winner faces the loser of the first qualifying game.

IPL 2023 participating teams

Per usual, India’s finest cricket teams meet during the IPL to compete for the title of reigning champions. This year, the list of contestants is more exhilarating than ever:

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Punjab Kings
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • SunRisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Gujarat Titans

How betting during IPL works

Just like in virtually every other sport, you can bet on the outcome of the IPL and each game during the league.

Some of the most popular betting markets for the IPL, and cricket in general, are:

  • Coin Toss, that is which team wins the toss to elect first bat.
  • Total wickets, that is bets on which bowler or team will take the most wickets in an inning or during the games.
  • Man of the match, that is which player will be awarded “man of the match” thanks to his or her outstanding performance.

As you can see, there are many to choose from to make the game more exciting for you.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *