FIFA Women's World Cup Trophy
FIFA Women's World Cup

32-teams to compete in FIFA Women’s World Cup from 2023

International Football Association FIFA have approved the expansion of women’s world cup and we’ll see 32 teams playing 2023 tournament. The success of recent 2019 France event inspired FIFA president Infantino and he proposed to expand the world cup championship for women.

FIFA Women's World Cup Trophy
FIFA Women’s World Cup Trophy

“The astounding success of this year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in France made it very clear that this is the time to keep the momentum going and take concrete steps to foster the growth of women’s football. I am glad to see this proposal – the first of several − becoming a reality,” FIFA president Infantino said in a release.

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup will be played with 32 countries categorized into 8 groups and each group to have 4 teams. Top two teams from each group will through to the knockouts and play in the round of 16 matches. Then after quarterfinals, semi-finals and final to take place to decide champion.

As the expansion of tournament comes from FIFA council, the governing body also sent details of the expansion to the current bidders to make sure they are still interested in the bid. Meanwhile those eligible members who are interested now , can also send their bid proposal. The fact is FIFA is yet to announce the host of 2023 world cup.

The interested parties can send their bid proposals up to December 2019 meanwhile FIFA to publish bid evaluation report by April 2020.
buy flagyl online no prescription
FIFA will announce the host in May 2020.

Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Japan, New Zealand, South Africa, South and North Korea have shown interest to host the 2023 women’s world cup. United States won the France edition of women’s football world cup and they’ll be title defending champions in the next edition if qualifies.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *