Sania Mirza to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award.

Sania Mirza to get Khel Ratna, 17 Sportspersons get Arjuna Awards

Indian women’s tennis star Sania Mirza will be awarded with India’s highest honour given for achievements in sports i.e. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna (RGKR) award. She becomes second tennis player and first woman to achieve this award. Before Sania, tennis star Leander Paes won Khel Ratna award in 1996-97. Government of India has also announced the 17 sports persons list who’ll get Arjuna Award this year on National Sports Day (29 August).

Sania Mirza to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award.
Sania Mirza

Sania Mirza showed her respect and greet towards country by saying, “It’s a tremendous honour for me to be conferred the Khel Ratna award and I feel humbled with the love and respect showered on me by my country.”

This year Sania Mirza has played some great tennis and achieved lots of records. Recently she became first Indian women’s tennis player to win Grand Slam when she claimed Wimbledon women’s doubles title with her partner Martina Hingis.

She told PTI, “Representing my country in all corners of the world has been my great privilege for so many years and this recognition of my efforts by the government of India is certain to inspire me to earn more laurels for our country. I would like to wish all my fellow Indians a happy independence day.
buy lasix online no prescription

Indian cricketer Rohit Sharma is named in the 17 sports persons nominated list who will get Arjuna Award from President Pranab Mukherjee. The rest 16 players come from various sports including Archery, Athletics, Wrestling, Boxing, Badminton, Hockey, Boxing, Gymnastics, Kabaddi etc. Have a look at the complete list of players for Arjuna awards.

Sports Persons list for Arjuna Award

Player Sport
Sandeep Kumar Archery
M R Poovamma Athletics
K Srikanth Badminton
Mandeep Jangra Boxing
Rohit Sharma Cricket
Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
P R Sreejesh Hockey
Manjeet Chhillar Kabaddi
Abhilasha Mhatre Kabaddi
Sharath Gaekwad Para-sailing
Anup Kumar Yama Rollerskating
Swarn Singh Virk Rowing
Jitu Rai Shooting
Satish Sivalingam Weightlifting
Babita Wrestling
Bajrang Wrestling
Yumnam Santoshi Devi Wushu


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *