India beat Bangladesh to win 2018 Asia Cup
Asia Cup News

Asia Cup Winners, Runners-up List

Asia Cup is one of the marquee cricket sporting event which usually takes place in span of two years. Top Asian cricket playing nations participate in the tournament. The first edition of Asia Cup was hosted by United Arab Emirates in 1984 and won by India.

India cricket team is the most successful team of Asia Cup as they won 7 titles over the years. Meanwhile Sri Lanka won 5 Asian Cup trophies. Pakistan became champions on two occasions in 2000 and 2012.
buy hard on oral jelly online no prescription

Till now, 14 editions have been concluded and latest Asia Cup took place in UAE 2018 which was won by India, defeating Bangladesh in the final.

India beat Bangladesh to win 2018 Asia Cup
India beat Bangladesh to win 2018 Asia Cup

One-Day Internationals and Twenty20Is are the two formats, Asia Cup is being played. Eventually T20 format was introduced to the championship in 2016. The next edition of tournament is set to take place in 2020 and will be played with t20 format.

Let’s have a look at the complete list of winners and runners-up in Asia Cup cricket.

Asia Cup Winners, Runners-Up

1984 UAE ODI India Sri Lanka
1986 Sri Lanka ODI Sri Lanka Pakistan
1988 Bangladesh ODI India Sri Lanka
1990-91 India ODI India Sri Lanka
1995 UAE ODI India Sri Lanka
1997 Sri Lanka ODI Sri Lanka India
2000 Bangladesh ODI Pakistan Sri Lanka
2004 Sri Lanka ODI Sri Lanka India
2008 Pakistan ODI Sri Lanka India
2010 Sri Lanka ODI India Sri Lanka
2012 Bangladesh ODI Pakistan Bangladesh
2014 Bangladesh ODI Sri Lanka Pakistan
2016 Bangladesh T20I India Bangladesh
2018 UAE ODI India Bangladesh
2020 Pakistan T20I TBC TBC

Results by Country

India 7 1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018
Sri Lanka 5 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014
Pakistan 2 2000, 2012

What do you think which team will win next Asia Cup? Share your views in comments.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *