Hockey World Cup Winners List.
Hockey World Cup

Hockey World Cup Winners, Runners-up List

International Hockey Federation (FIH) organizes field hockey world cup in every four years time span. The inaugural edition of hockey world cup was played in 1971 which was hosted by Spain in Barcelona. Since then 14 events have been concluded till 2018 and the next tournament will be played in 2022. Pakistan won the first hockey world championship by defeating Spain in the final by 1-0.

Hockey World Cup Winners List.
Hockey World Cup Trophy

Pakistan is the most successful team in the history of hockey world cup as they are the champions of 4-time. They won prestigious hockey championship in 1971, 1978, 1982 and 1994. Netherlands and Australia have also won hockey world cup 3-3 times each. Germany also won FIH field hockey world cup two times in 2002 and 2006.
buy amoxil online no prescription

India also became world hockey champion once in 1975.

The recent 14th edition of hockey world cup was played in India which was won by Belgium. Let’s have a look at the complete list of winners and runners-up in the competition so far.

Hockey World Cup Champions

Year Winner Runner-up Final Score Host
1971 Pakistan Spain 1-0 Spain
1973 Netherlands India 2-2 (4-2 in Penalty Strokes) Netherlands
1975 India Pakistan 2-1 Malaysia
1978 Pakistan Netherlands 3-2 Argentina
1982 Pakistan Germany 3-1 India
1986 Australia England 2-1 England
1990 Netherlands Pakistan 3-1 Pakistan
1994 Pakistan Netherlands 1-1 (4-3 in Penalty Strokes) Australia
1998 Netherlands Spain 3-2 Netherlands
2002 Germany Australia 2-1 Malaysia
2006 Germany Australia 4-3 Germany
2010 Australia Germany 2-1 India
2014 Australia Netherlands 6-1 Netherlands
2018 Belgium Netherlands 0-0 (3-2 in penalty shoots) India

Countries with number of titles and years

Country Number of Titles Year
Pakistan 4 1971, 1978, 1982, 1994
Netherlands 3 1973, 1990, 1998
Australia 3 1986, 2010, 2014
Germany 2 2002, 2006
Belgium 1 2018
India 1 1975


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *