Cricket Players list who faced ban for Match Fixing.

List of Cricket Players who faced ban for Match Fixing

Cricket is one of the most popular sports around the globe, especially in Asia. Lots of fans, followers and viewers are there for the game of cricket who cheer and support their favorite teams and players respectively. In the recent past years and decade there are certain controversies took place in cricket and match fixing is one of them.
buy benzac generic over the counter

There are several cricketers who are associated with match fixing and due to it they faced ban as well.

Cricket Players list who faced ban for Match Fixing.

Today we’ll check out the list of players who were involved in the fixing and due it they even face life ban. but before going to see that list, we’ll discuss what a match fixing is.

Cricket match fixing

You might have heard many times that the match was fixed as the result of match was completely out of the your expectations. But it doesn’t happen all the time that match is fixed if the result doesn’t go according to you. But in some matches in past it was found that players were involved in the match.

In general, match fixing is defined as a cricket match is played with predetermined result. It is not compulsory that whole match is played in such a way, even if one ball/over is played with predefined result it is considered as match fixing. The people who fixes the match are known as bookmakers or bookies. If a cricketer contacts or connects with bookie and reveal any kind of match related information ahead of the starting the match, it is also considered as match fixing.

List of players banned from match fixing

Cricketer National Team Found Guilty Year Ban Duration
Saleem Malik Pakistan 2000 Life Ban (Overturned in 2008)
Ata-ur-Rehman Pakistan 2000 Life Ban (Lifted in 2006)
Mohammad Azharuddin India 2000 Life Ban (Lifted in 2006)
Ajay Sharma India 2000 Life Ban
Manoj Prabhakar India 2000 5 Years
Ajay Jadeja India 2000 5 Years (Overturned in 2003)
Hansie Cronje South Africa 2000 Life Ban
Herschelle Gibbs South Africa 2000 6 Months
Henry Williams South Africa 2000 6 Months
Maurice Odumbe Kenya 2004 5 Years
Marlon Samuels West Indies 2008 2 Years
Mohammad Amir Pakistan 2011 5 Years
Mohammad Asif Pakistan 2011 7 Years (2 Years Suspended)
Salman Butt Pakistan 2011 10 Years (5 Years Suspended)
Danish Kaneria Pakistan 2012 Life Ban
Sreesanth India 2013 Life Ban
Mohammad Ashraful Bangladesh 2013 8 Years (3 Years Suspended)
Lou Vincent New Zealand 2014 Life Ban
Kaushal Lokuarachchi Sri Lanka 2014 18 Months

If you know any other cricketer that we missed to list here, please mention in the comment section.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *