Home » Football » FIFA World Cup » Spain vs Russia 2018 World Cup Predicted XIs, Teams, Preview

Spain vs Russia 2018 World Cup Predicted XIs, Teams, Preview

Spain and Russia will be playing in the third round of 16 match in 2018 FIFA World Cup which is scheduled to kick off at 17:00 local time in Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow. Winner of this match will enter in the world cup quarterfinal and will play against either Croatia or Denmark.

SPA vs RUS Round of 16 Battle

Spain vs Russia 2018 World Cup Round of 16 match schedule

Spain vs Russia 2018 World Cup Round of 16 match.

Date: 1 July

Fixture: Spain vs Russia

Match Timings: 17:00 MSK, 19:30 IST, 15:00 BST, 11:00 EST

Venue: Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow

Match Preview

Six times these two footballing nations have played against each other in international games. Spanish side won 4 matches and Russian team is still looking for their first victory against 2010 FIFA world cup champions. This could be the prime time for hosts Russia as if they succeeds to beat Spain, it would be their biggest victory ever.

Russia got the perfect start in the tournament as they defeated Saudi Arabia in the opening game of 21st world cup by 5-0. RUS also won against Egypt by 3-1. But lost against Uruguay by 3-0. Meanwhile Spain team topped the Group-B with one win over Iran and two draws against Portugal and Morocco.

Ahead of the Sunday’s vital clash, Spanish defender Dani Carvajal praised opposition side for their brilliant show in the competition as nobody was expecting Russia to do this better and scored 8 goals in two group matches. He mentioned it would not be easy for 2010 champions to play against the host side which is having huge crowd support.

“On Sunday we have a very difficult game against the host nation, who scored eight goals in two games and who will have the whole country behind them. Russia is a strong and quick team and we have to be very wary of giving the ball away. We have to be very focused and set ourselves up to exploit their weaknesses and capitalise on their errors,” Dani said.

Probable Starting XIs

Spain

De Gea, Carvajal, Pique, Sergio Ramos, Jordi Alba, Busquets, Thiago, Silva, Isco, Iniesta, Costa.​

Russia

Akinfeev, Fernandes, Ignasevich, Kutepov, Zhirkov, Gazinskiy, Zobnin, Samedov, Golovin, Cheryschev, Dyzuba.

See more: Spain vs Russia live stream, broadcast

Predictions

Spanish team looks favorite against Russia in the round of 16 knockout match. As per SportsMirchi predictions, Spain have got 65% winning chances and it is expected that the winning score line could be 3-1 in the favor of Spain.

What’s your take on this Spain-Russia contest? Who will win it?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Scroll To Top