Field Hockey in Summer Olympics 2016 at Rio.
Rio 2016

Field Hockey in Summer Olympics 2016 at Rio

Field Hockey is one of the 28 sports in 2016 Summer Olympics which is scheduled to play from 7 to 20 August. It will be hosted at Hockey Center in Deodoro. A total of 24 teams will be participating in the field hockey for both men’s and women’s events.
buy fluoxetine generic over the counter

Field Hockey in Summer Olympics 2016 at Rio.

Rules and Regulations

Unlike 2012 London Olympics, field hockey in 2016 Olympic Games will have different game rules and there are certain changes. The match was used to play in two halves each of 35-minutes. But on 20 March, 2014 International Hockey Federation changed the match format and now each match will be played in four quarters of 15 minute each.

Qualified Teams

Hosts Brazil has qualified for both men’s field hockey in 2016 Rio Olympics as they are hosting the event. Rest teams have qualified from various qualification tournaments.

Men’s teams

  1. Brazil
  2. India
  3. Germany
  4. Canada
  5. Spain
  6. Australia
  7. Belgium
  8. Great Britain
  9. Argentina
  10. Netherlands

Women’s Teams

  1. South Korea
  2. China
  3. Argentina
  4. Germany
  5. Australia
  6. Netherlands
  7. India
  8. New Zealand
  9. United States
  10. Great Britain

Winners of each event will get Gold Medal for nation whereas runner-up will be awarded Silver medal.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *