Twenty20 Cricket is the short format of cricket.
T20 Cricket

Twenty20 Cricket

Twenty20 cricket is the short version of cricket. It is also known as T20 cricket or Twenty-20 around the globe. Test and One Day International are the other forms of cricket. We all know cricket sport was originated in England and twenty20 format was also introduced in the same nation in 2003 year. England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) introduced this game for the first time in 2003 for inter-county professional tournament.

Twenty20 Cricket is the short format of cricket.

T20 format structure

A Twenty20 cricket match is played between 2 respective teams as the cricket standard follows. This version of game is so popular and exciting as single twenty20 match completes in 3 to 3.5 hours. It is a limited overs game and both teams are given 20 overs to bat and score as much runs as they can. This leads cricketers to score more and more runs in quick session of time which makes the game more exciting.
buy zenegra online no prescription

Twenty20 general rules

One T20 game follows all the rules and regulations of cricket sport but there are some modifications made in the rules to make the game more exciting.


Fielding restrictions will be applied in the first six overs of an inning. That means only two players can be outside from the 30-yard circle for the initial 6 overs. After completion of 6 overs, a maximum of 5 fielders can be outside from the 30 yard circle.

Free Hit

Free hit is one of the most exciting features of twenty20. If a bowler bowls a no-ball then batting earns one run for free and bowler needs to bowl that bowl again. The next ball is known as free hit and it gives batsman license to score the maximum runs freely as he can’t be given out except he gets run out.

Note:- Here the no-ball should be front foot no-ball i.e. bowler delivers ball by overstepping the popping crease.

Overs limit

Each team can bat a maximum of 20 overs in 75-90 minutes of the inning. One bowler can bowl a maximum of 4 overs in a full 20 over match.

Super Over

Super Over is one the best part of t20 cricket and it comes into play when a 20-20 cricket match ends at draw or tie and there must be a winner. In a tie match situation, super over is used to decide the winner of match. In super over, each team is allowed to pick 3 batsmen and one bowler for an over eliminator match.

Whoever scores the maximum runs in super over, that team is announced the winner.

International Twenty20 cricket

First T20 international cricket match ever was played on 17 February 2005 between Australia and New Zealand at Eden Park in Auckland, New Zealand. Australia beat Blackcaps in the opening twenty20 international game. Since then a total of 20 nations have played international t20 cricket at least once.

As the popularity of shortest form of cricket gain, International Cricket Council launched ICC World Twenty20 competition in 2007 and since then it is organized in every 2 years spare time. The inaugural edition of ICC world T20 was played at South Africa which was won by India.

ICC World Twenty20

5 nations won ICC world T20 Cup till 2014 tournament.

Tournament Year Winner Runner Up Host
2007 India Pakistan South Africa
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka England
2010 England Australia West Indies
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2014 Sri Lanka India Bangladesh
2016 India

Popular Domestic T20 Tournaments

There are several countries organizing twenty20 tournaments to encourage local players. These leagues allow certain number of foreign players to participate in the league. Let’s find out some domestic leagues.

Country Domestic League Inaugural Edition
Australia Big Bash League 2011-12
Bangladesh Bangladesh Premier League 2012
Canada Scotiabank National T20 Championship 2005
England Natwest T20 Blast 2014
India Indian Premier League 2008
Kenya East Africa Premier League 2011-12
Nepal Nepal Premier League 2014
New Zealand HRV Cup 2005-06
Pakistan Faysal Bank T20 Cup 2004-05
Scotland Murgitroyd Twenty20 2008
South Africa Ram Slam T20 Challenge 2003-04
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Premier League 2012
USA American Twenty20 Championship 2011
West Indies Caribbean Premier League 2013
Zimbabwe Stanbic Bank 20 Series 2006


  1. Thank, for this all list..and really this t20 world cup win India team, because i love virat kohli and rohit sharma.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *