Home » Cricket » ICC Champions Trophy » ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

International Cricket Council organizes ICC Champions Trophy at regular intervals. It is a One Day International (ODI) tournament in which top 8 teams participate. The inaugural event was hosted by Bangladesh in 1998 which was won by South Africa. First two editions of ICC Champions Trophy in 1998 and 2000 were known as ICC Knockout Tournament.

ICC Champions Trophy Winners, Runners-up list.

ICC Champions Trophy

A total of 7 ICC Champions trophy editions have been concluded successfully over the years since 1998. South Africa, New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka, Australia and West Indies have become winners of the prestigious International Cricket Council event at least once. Australia and India are the most successful nations in the competition as they have won champions trophy 2-2 times each.

Let’s have a look at the complete list of winners and runners-up in ICC Champions Trophy from 1998.

Winners of ICC Champions Trophy

Year Winner Runner-up Final Result Host
1998 South Africa West Indies South Africa won by 4 wickets Bangladesh
2000 New Zealand India New Zealand won by 4 wickets Kenya
2002 India, Sri-Lanka Sri Lanka and India named joint winners Sri Lanka
2004 West Indies England West Indies won by 2 wickets England
2006 Australia West Indies Australia won by 8 wickets India
2009 Australia New Zealand Australia won by 6 wickets South Africa
2013 India England India won by 5 runs England
2017 TBC TBC TBC England

Countries with number of titles and years

Country Number of Titles Year
Australia 2 2006, 2009
India 2 2002, 2013
South Africa 1 1998
New Zealand 1 2000
Sri Lanka 1 2002
West Indies 1 2004


  1. still waiting for champions trophy 20-17

  2. This time Pakistan is gonna win!

  3. this time pak will rock…..

  4. pakistan bhitrani miya ke badi me jayega

  5. prabhakar verma

    India win this ICC champion trophy of 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top