ICC T20 World Cup Trophy
News T20 World Cup

Top 5 High-Scoring T20 World Cup Matches

Twenty20 cricket is a game of scoring big and quick runs and ICC T20 World Cup is the gala event of cricket’s shortest format. Today SportsMirchi is bringing a list of top 5 high scoring aggregate runs in an ICC twenty20 world cup match over the years.

ICC T20 World Cup Trophy
ICC T20 World Cup Trophy

There are three occasions till now when a world t20 game has witness more than 400 runs. Let’s checkout top five high-scoring games.

1. South Africa vs England 2016 T20 world cup (459 runs)

ICC T20 world cup 2016 was held in India and Group-1 match between England and South Africa registered the highest score in a twenty20 world cup event.

Winning the toss, England chose to bowl first and South African batsmen batted brilliantly to put 229 runs on the scoreboard after completion of 20 overs. Hashim Amla (58), JP Duminy (54*) and Quinton de Kock (52) were the top runs scorers in Proteas innings.

In a reply to this massive total, England registered victory by 2 wickets with 2 balls left in the game. Joe Root was the star of English innings as he made 83 runs in 44 balls to guide team towards victory. Jason Roy also contributed crucial 43 runs to take England’s score 230 runs in 19.4 overs.

2. India vs England 2007 T20 world cup (418 runs)

Inaugural ICC T20 World Cup was played in South Africa and Group-E match between India and England sparked the charm and excitement of tournament.

Winning the toss, India chose to bat first and destructing batting from opener Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir set platform for middle order to score big. Yuvraj Singh was sensation as he smacked 6 sixes in an over of Stuart Broad to take India’s total 218 in 20 overs. Sehwag (68), Gambhir (58) and Yuvraj (58) were top scorers in the innings.
buy nolvadex online https://www.conci.com/wp-content/themes/twentyfifteen/inc/new/nolvadex.html no prescription

In a reply to this huge target, English batsmen managed to score 200 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 6 wickets. Vikarm Solanki was the highest scorer in England innings with 43 runs. India won by 18 runs.

3. West Indies vs South Africa 2007 T20 world cup (413 runs)

West Indies and South Africa were facing each other in the opening game of 2007 ICC twenty20 world cup at Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. Host Africa invited Windies to bat first after winning the toss.

Chris Gayle setup the tournament with his firing hundred as he scored 117 runs in just 57 balls. West Indies made 205 runs in 20 overs. However Gayle’s innings went into dustbin as Proteas team chased the target in 17.4 overs with Herschelle Gibbs’ 90 runs innings in 55 balls. Justin Kemp made 46 in 22 balls to guide home team towards victory.

4. South Africa vs England 2014 t20 world cup (389 runs)

The fourth highest score in twenty20 world cup came when South Africa and England met in 2014 event. South Africa were invited to bat first by English captain and Proteas did fantastic job with the bat as team put up 196 runs in 20 overs. South African captain AB De Villiers went after English bowling and smashed 69 runs in just 28 balls.
buy eriacta online https://www.conci.com/wp-content/themes/twentyfifteen/inc/new/eriacta.html no prescription
Amla also made half century.

To chase 197 runs, England didn’t got top start but useful contributions from batsmen, took team near to the Proteas target. English team managed to score 193 runs in full overs bowling quota and shorten by 3 runs to the target.

5. Pakistan vs Australia 2010 t20 world cup (388 runs)

Pakistan and Australia were involved in the fifth highest score of t20 world cup when both teams encountered in the 2nd semifinal of 2010 event. Pakistan were asked to bat first and team in green posted 191 runs for the lose of 6 wickets in 20 overs. Umar Akmal was the highest scorer with 56 not out in 35 balls.

Australia chased down this target before one ball left in the innings with the help of brilliant half century from Michael Hussey. He made 60 runs in 24 balls to guide Australia into the final with 3 wickets victory over title defenders.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *