ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 logo
ICC World Cup

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

International Cricket Council’s 2023 World Cup will be 13th edition of ICC World Cup that will be hosted in India. It will be fourth time when India to organize cricket world cup. The best thing about hosting this world cup is it will be first occasion when India will host a ICC Cricket World Cup solely. It will be played between 5 October and 19 November.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 logo
Photo: ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 logo

India co-hosted three world cups before as in 1987 (Pakistan), 1996 (Pakistan and Sri Lanka) and 2011 (Sri Lanka and Bangladesh).

Hence it will be first occasion when only India to host ICC world cup and will become first Asian country to host such event alone.

Host Selection

In an ICC meeting in June 2013, International Cricket Council members decided to award 2023 cricket world cup hosting rights to India.


There are 10 teams competing in the tournament. Netherlands are the only associating nation to play in the world cup.

  1. India
  2. Australia
  3. England
  4. New Zealand
  5. South Africa
  6. Pakistan
  7. Bangladesh
  8. Afghanistan
  9. Sri Lanka
  10. Netherlands


The 13th ICC World Cup is scheduled to play October-November with opening game scheduled to hole on 5th October between England and New Zealand Ahmedabad. Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will also host the closing match of tournament on November 19, 2023.

5 October 2023; England vs New Zealand, Ahmedabad
6 October 2023; Pakistan vs Netherlands, Hyderabad
7 October 2023; Bangladesh vs Afghanistan, Dharamshala
7 October 2023; South Africa vs Sri Lanka, Delhi
8 October 2023; India vs Australia, Chennai
9 October 2023; New Zealand vs , Hyderabad
10 October 2023; England vs Bangladesh, Dharamshala
11 October 2023; India vs Afghanistan, Delhi
12 October 2023; Pakistan vs Sri Lanka, Hyderabad
13 October 2023; Australia vs South Africa, Lucknow
14 October 2023; Afghanistan vs England, Delhi
14 October 2023; Bangladesh vs New Zealand, Chennai
15 October 2023; India vs Pakistan, Ahmedabad
16 October 2023; Australia vs Sri Lanka, Lucknow
17 October 2023; South Africa vs Netherlands, Dharamshala
18 October 2023; Afghanistan vs New Zealand, Chennai
19 October 2023; Bangladesh vs India, Pune
20 October 2023; Australia vs Pakistan, Bengaluru
21 October 2023; England vs South Africa, Mumbai
21 October 2023; Netherlands vs Sri Lanka, Lucknow
22 October 2023; India vs New Zealand, Dharamshala
23 October 2023; Afghanistan vs Pakistan, Chennai
24 October 2023; Bangladesh vs South Africa, Mumbai
25 October 2023; Australia vs Netherlands, Delhi
26 October 2023; England vs Sri Lanka, Bengaluru
27 October 2023; Pakistan vs South Africa, Chennai
28 October 2023; Bangladesh vs Netherlands, Kolkata
28 October 2023; Australia vs New Zealand, Dharamshala
29 October 2023; England vs India, Lucknow
30 October 2023; Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka, Pune
31 October 2023; Bangladesh vs Pakistan, Kolkata
1 November 2023; New Zealand vs South Africa, Pune
2 November 2023; India vs Sri Lanka, Mumbai
3 November 2023; Afghanistan vs Netherlands, Lucknow
4 November 2023; Australia vs England, Ahmedabad
4 November 2023; New Zealand vs Pakistan, Bengaluru
5 November 2023; India vs South Africa, Kolkata
6 November 2023; Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, Delhi
7 November 2023; Australia vs Afghanistan, Mumbai
8 November 2023; England vs Netherlands, Pune
9 November 2023; New Zealand vs Sri Lanka, Bengaluru
10 November 2023; Afghanistan vs South Africa, Ahmedabad
11 November 2023; India vs Netherlands, Bengaluru
12 November 2023; England vs Pakistan, Kolkata
12 November 2023; Australia vs Bangladesh, Pune
15 November 2023; 1st Place vs 4th Place, Mumbai
16 November 2023; 2nd Place vs 3rd Place, Kolkata
19 November 2023; TBC vs TBC, Ahmedabad

Broadcasting Rights

As per ICC’s deal with Star network, Star Sports will be the major broadcasting network for 2023 world cup. It will telecast live cricket matches on television and internet. Hotstar.com to air live streaming of ICC world cup 2023.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *