ICC Champions Trophy 2017
ICC Champions Trophy

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

The eighth edition of ICC Champions Trophy is scheduled to play from 1 to 18 June, 2017 in England. A total of 8 national cricket teams will participate in the prestigious ODI tournament. India is the title defending champion in tournament as they won 2013 ICC Champions Trophy by defeating England.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017


England Cricket Board proposed Cardiff, Edgbaston and The Oval to ICC as hosting venues for Champions trophy and the International Cricket Council Committee approved proposed venues when announced fixtures of 2017 Champions Trophy on 1st June 2016. The Oval will be hosting CT final on 18th June.

  1. The Oval
  2. Cardiff
  3. Edgbaston


England became first team to qualify for 2017 champions trophy as they were give hosting rights of the competition. Rest 7 teams of the tournament came after their good MRF ICC ODI rankings. However West Indies failed to enter in the ct17 meanwhile Bangladesh qualified first time for champions trophy.

  1. England
  2. India
  3. Australia
  4. South Africa
  5. New Zealand
  6. Bangladesh
  7. Sri Lanka
  8. Pakistan

See more: ICC Champions Trophy winners


Participating 8 teams are categorized into two groups namely A and B. Top two teams from each group will qualify for champions trophy semi-finals which are scheduled for 14 and 15 June.

Group A Group B
Australia India
Bangladesh Pakistan
England South Africa
New Zealand Sri Lanka

Check more: All 8 teams squad for CT17


The schedule of 2017 Champions Trophy was announced on 1st June 2016 just before the one year of beginning of championship in England. The opening game of tournament is scheduled to be played between England and Bangladesh at The Oval. Title defenders Indian team to face arch rival Pakistan on June 4 at Edgbaston. Semi-finals are set to be played on 14 and 15 June while final is scheduled for 18 June 2017.

Date Match Fixture Venue
1 June 2017 Match 1 England vs Bangladesh The Oval
2 June 2017 Match 2 New Zealand vs Australia Edgbaston
3 June 2017 Match 3 Sri Lanka vs South Africa The Oval
4 June 2017 Match 4 India vs Pakistan Edgbaston
5 June 2017 Match 5 Australia vs Bangladesh The Oval
6 June 2017 Match 6 England vs New Zealand Cardiff
7 June 2017 Match 7 Pakistan vs South Africa Edgbaston
8 June 2017 Match 8 India vs Sri Lanka The Oval
9 June 2017 Match 9 New Zealand vs Bangladesh Cardiff
10 June 2017 Match 10 England vs Australia Edgbaston
11 June 2017 Match 11 India vs South Africa The Oval
12 June 2017 Match 12 Sri Lanka vs Pakistan Cardiff
14 June 2017 Match 13 Semi-Final: England vs TBC Cardiff
15 June 2017 Match 14 Semi-Final: Bangladesh vs TBC Edgbaston
18 June 2017 Match 15 Final The Oval

Broadcasting Rights

It’s a global event and various broadcasting networks will telecast live ICC Champions Trophy 2017 matches around the globe.

Country Broadcaster
Australia Fox Sports, Foxtel Sports
Bangladesh BTV, Maasranga, Gazi TV
Canada ATN
India Star Sports, DD National, Hotstar
United Kingdom Sky Sports, Sky Go
Ireland Sky Sports
New Zealand Sky TV
Pakistan TEN Sports, PTV Sports
South Africa SuperSport
China and Asian Sub-continent Fox Network Group
Afghanistan Moby TV
Middle East & North Africa OSN
Caribbean ESPN
Sri Lanka Star Sports, SLRC
United States of America (USA) Willow TV


  1. I would like to propose best format for 2019 world cup. In this format 15 Teams can participate with only 42 Matches.

    In other proposal 16 Teams with 49 matches. This is best suited as this format will enhance Chances of best teams playing with each other. All top 8 teams will get chance to crack with each other


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *