Sania Mirza receives Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

Sania Mirza receives Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Tennis star Sania Mirza has received India’s prestigious sports honor as she gets Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award from honorable President Pranab Mukherjee. Sania becomes 28th athlete and second tennis player after Leander Paes to get this award. This is the first occasion when a woman tennis player has received India’s highest sporting honour.
buy plavix generic buy plavix generic


Sania Mirza receives Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.
Sania Mirza with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Sania also received 7.5 lakh rupees prize along with medal and certificate. Mr. Pranab Mukherjee also awarded Arjuna award to 17 other sportspersons. Arjuna awardees cricketer Rohit Sharma, boxer Mandeep Jangra and quarter miler M R Poovamma didn’t attend the ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhawan. Arjuna award winners received 5 lakh rupees prize, certificates and statuettes.

Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awards were also awarded to the respective winners.

Arjuna awardees 2015

P R Sreejesh (hockey), Dipa Karmakar (gymnastics), Jitu Rai (shooting), Sandeep Kumar (archery), Mandeep Jangra (boxing), Babita (wrestling), Bajrang (wrestling), Rohit Sharma (cricket), K Srikanth (badminton), Swarn Singh Virk (rowing), Satish Sivalingam (weightlifting), Santhoi Devi (wushu), Sharath Gaekwad (para-sailing), M R Poovamma (athletics), Manjeet Chhillar (kabaddi), Abhilasha Mhatre (kabaddi), Anup Kumar Yama (rollerskating).

Dronacharya awardees 2015

Naval Singh (athletics-para-sports), Anoop Singh (wrestling), Harbans Singh (athletics-lifetime), Swatantar Raj Singh (boxing- lifetime), Nihar Ameen (swimming-lifetime)

Dhyan Chand awardees 2015

Romeo James (hockey), Shiv Prakash Mishra (tennis), T.P.P. Nair (volleyball).


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *