Home » Football » Fifa World Cup » FIFA World Cup 2018 at Russia

FIFA World Cup 2018 at Russia

The 21st edition of FIFA World Cup has been scheduled to be held in Russia from 14 June to 15 July 2018. 32 countries will be participating in 2018 FIFA World Cup. Germany will be the defending champion in the tournament if they qualify. This will be the first occasion when a football world cup will be hosted at Soviet Union area.

Fifa World Cup 2018 at Russia.

Host Selection

At the initial stage 9 countries bid to host Fifa World Cup 2018. On 2 December, 2010 Federation International de Football Association announced that 21st FIFA world cup will be played in Russia.

Official Mascot

FIFA announced the official mascot for 2018 world cup on 21 October, 2016. The official FIFA world cup 2018 Russia mascot is named as “Zabivaka” which means “the one who scores” as per Russian language. There was race among three mascots a cat, a tiger and a wolf to become mascot for the tournament. But with 53%, wolf was chosen. The wolf signifies the fun, charm and confidence.

2018 FIFA world cup official mascot zabivaka

2018 FIFA world cup official mascot “Zabivaka”

2018 world cup official mascot was developed and designed by student designer Ekaterina Bocharova. Tiger and cat received 27% and 20% votes respectively. As per Federation International Football Association, 1,000,000 votes were cast and 537522 votes were given to wolf “Zabivaka”.

The mascot will also be used in FIFA Confederations Cup 2017.


There will be 11 cities and 12 grounds hosting the FIFA world cup 2018. Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow may host final of 2018 Fifa world cup.

Luzhniki Stadium Moscow 81,000
Otkrytie Arena Moscow 44,929
Zenit Arena Saint Petersburg 66,881
Kaliningrad Stadium Kaliningrad 35,000
Kazan Arena Kazan 45,105
Strelka Stadium Nizhny Novgorod 44,899
Samara Stadium Samara 44,918
Central Stadium Volgograd 45,015
Yubileyniy Stadium Saransk 45,015
Levberdon Arena Rostov-on-Don 43,702
Fisht Olympic Stadium Sochi 47,659
Central Stadium Yekaterinburg 35,000

Qualified Teams

There are 32 teams participating in 2018 football world cup. Russia qualified for the championship as they will host the even. Brazil is the first team to qualify for the world cup.

  1. Russia
  2. Brazil
  3. Iran


Host Russia is placed in the Group A as FIFA announced the schedule of 2018 world cup. Rest 31 teams are divided in the 8 groups of competition.

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Russia B1 C1 D1
A2 B2 C2 D2
A3 B3 C3 D3
A4 B4 C4 D4
Group E Group F Group G Group H
E1 F1 G1 H1
E2 F2 G2 H2
E3 F3 G3 H3
E4 F4 G4 H4


Federation Internationale de Football Association declared the full schedule on 24 July, 2015. Hosts Russia will be playing opening match of world cup on 14 June, 2018 at Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow. Luzhniki Stadium will host second semi-final and final of the tournament on 11 and 15 July 2018 respectively.


Download: FIFA World Cup 2018 Fixtures PDF

Date Match Fixture Venue
14 June 2018 Match 1 Russia vs A2 Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow
15 June 2018 Match 2 A3 vs A4 Central Stadium, Yekaterinburg
15 June 2018 Match 3 B1 vs B2 Fisht Olympic Stadium, Sochi
15 June 2018 Match 4 B3 vs B4 Zenit Arena, Saint Petersburg
16 June 2018 Match 5 C1 vs C2 Kazan Arena, Kazan
16 June 2018 Match 6 C3 vs C4 Mordovia-Arena, Saransk
16 June 2018 Match 7 D1 vs D2 Spartak Stadium, Moscow
16 June 2018 Match 8 D3 vs D4 Kaliningrad Stadium, Kaliningrad
17 June 2018 Match 9 E1 vs E2 Levberdon Arena, Rostov-on-Don
17 June 2018 Match 10 E3 vs E4 Cosmos Arena, Samara
17 June 2018 Match 11 F1 vs F2 Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow
18 June 2018 Match 12 F3 vs F4 Strelka Stadium, Nizhny Novgorod
18 June 2018 Match 13 G1 vs G2 Fisht Olympic Stadium, Sochi
18 June 2018 Match 14 G3 vs G4 Central Stadium, Volgograd
19 June 2018 Match 15 H1 vs H2 Spartak Stadium, Moscow
19 June 2018 Match 16 H3 vs H4 Mordovia-Arena, Saransk
19 June 2018 Match 17 Russia vs A3 Zenit Arena, Saint Petersburg
20 June 2018 Match 18 A4 vs A2 Levberdon Arena, Rostov-on-Don
20 June 2018 Match 19 B1 vs B3 Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow
20 June 2018 Match 20 B2 vs B4 Kazan Arena, Kazan
21 June 2018 Match 21 C1 vs C3 Kaliningrad Stadium, Kaliningrad
21 June 2018 Match 22 C2 vs C4 Cosmos Arena, Samara
21 June 2018 Match 23 D1 vs D3 Strelka Stadium, Nizhny Novgorod
22 June 2018 Match 24 D2 vs D4 Central Stadium, Volgograd
22 June 2018 Match 25 E1 vs E3 Zenit Arena, Saint Petersburg
22 June 2018 Match 26 E2 vs E4 Central Stadium, Yekaterinburg
23 June 2018 Match 27 F1 vs F3 Fisht Olympic Stadium, Sochi
23 June 2018 Match 28 F2 vs F4 Levberdon Arena, Rostov-on-Don
23 June 2018 Match 29 G1 vs G3 Spartak Stadium, Moscow
24 June 2018 Match 30 G2 vs G4 Strelka Stadium, Nizhny Novgorod
24 June 2018 Match 31 H1 vs H3 Kazan Arena, Kazan
24 June 2018 Match 32 H2 vs H4 Kaliningrad Stadium, Kaliningrad
25 June 2018 Match 33 A4 vs Russia Cosmos Arena, Samara
25 June 2018 Match 34 A2 vs A3 Central Stadium, Volgograd
25 June 2018 Match 35 B4 vs B1 Mordovia-Arena, Saransk
25 June 2018 Match 36 B2 vs B3 Central Stadium, Yekaterinburg
26 June 2018 Match 37 C4 vs C1 Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow
26 June 2018 Match 38 C2 vs C3 Fisht Olympic Stadium, Sochi
26 June 2018 Match 39 D4 vs D1 Zenit Arena, Saint Petersburg
26 June 2018 Match 40 D2 vs D3 Levberdon Arena, Rostov-on-Don
27 June 2018 Match 41 E4 vs E1 Spartak Stadium, Moscow
27 June 2018 Match 42 E3 vs E2 Strelka Stadium, Nizhny Novgorod
27 June 2018 Match 43 F4 vs F1 Kazan Arena, Kazan
27 June 2018 Match 44 F3 vs F2 Kaliningrad Stadium, Kaliningrad
28 June 2018 Match 45 G4 vs G1 Central Stadium, Yekaterinburg
28 June 2018 Match 46 G3 vs G2 Mordovia-Arena, Saransk
28 June 2018 Match 47 H4 vs H1 Central Stadium, Volgograd
28 June 2018 Match 48 H3 vs H2 Cosmos Arena, Samara

Round of 16

30 June 2018 Match 49 Group A(W) vs Group B(R) Fisht Olympic Stadium, Sochi
30 June 2018 Match 50 Group C(W) vs Group D(R) Kazan Arena, Kazan
1 July 2018 Match 51 Group B(W) vs Group A(R) Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow
1 July 2018 Match 52 Group D(W) vs Group C(R) Strelka Stadium, Nizhny Novgorod
2 July 2018 Match 53 Group E(W) vs Group F(R) Cosmos Arena, Samara
2 July 2018 Match 54 Group G(W) vs Group H(R) Levberdon Arena, Rostov-on-Don
3 July 2018 Match 55 Group F(W) vs Group E(R) Zenit Arena, Saint Petersburg
3 July 2018 Match 56 Group H(W) vs Group G(R) Spartak Stadium, Moscow


6 July 2018 Match 57 Quarter-Final 1 Strelka Stadium, Nizhny Novgorod
6 July 2018 Match 58 Quarter-Final 2 Kazan Arena, Kazan
7 July 2018 Match 59 Quarter-Final 3 Fisht Olympic Stadium, Sochi
7 July 2018 Match 60 Quarter-Final 4 Cosmos Arena, Samara


10 July 2018 Match 61 Semi-Final 1 Zenit Arena, Saint Petersburg
11 July 2018 Match 62 Semi-Final 2 Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow

Third Place

14 July 2018 Match 63 Third Place Match Zenit Arena, Saint Petersburg


15 July 2018 Match 64 Final Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow

Download: FIFA World Cup 2018 Fixtures PDF

Broadcasting Rights

SBS, DirecTV, beIN Sports and EBU are the major broadcasting networks for 18th Football world cup. The full list of broadcasters and TV channels network can be found here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top