Home » Cricket » India’s Tour of Australia 2016 Schedule, Dates, Venue announced

India’s Tour of Australia 2016 Schedule, Dates, Venue announced

India will be travelling to Australia in January 2016 and will face the hosts in bilateral ODIs and T20 series. The 5 One day Internationals and 3 Twenty20 will be played between January 12-31, 2016 according to a media release by the host board.

India's Tour of Australia 2016 Schedule, Dates, Venue announced.

“Five matches to be played in January between two powerhouses of world cricket. The ODI format has never been bigger following the World Cup; many Aussie and Indian fans are expected to fill the stadiums to see these two teams compete.

The T20 match-up with India includes an Australia Day(January 26) fixture at the Adelaide Oval and the format’s return to the Sydney Cricket Ground(SCG) as part of a seven year agreement between Cricket Australia(CA), Cricket NSW and the SCG Trust that will see the SCG play host to all international cricket in NSW from this summer.” CA said in a media release on Thursday.

The fans from the subcontinent filled the stands in huge numbers during world cup and CA wants to carry forward the trend as it stated in the release that it wants the sub continental to maintain their passion for the game.

“These teams met in the semi-final of the world cup in a match which saw more than 300 million fans watching on Star TV in India and we want to continue to build a strong rivalry which will be on show throughout the summer”, CA executive general manager Mike McKenna said. The T20s will be an ideal opportunity for both the sides to test themselves in the format before heading to the T20 World Cup which would be played in India from March 11, 2016.

India travelled to Australia last year as well when it played a four match series followed by a tri series including England before the World Cup where it failed to win a single match.

Australia vs India 2016 series schedule

Date Match Fixture Venue
12 January 2016 1st ODI Australia vs India Perth
15 January 2016 2nd ODI Australia vs India Brisbane
17 January 2016 3rd ODI Australia vs India Melbourne
20 January 2016 4th ODI Australia vs India Canberra
23 January 2016 5th ODI Australia vs India Sydney
26 January 2016 1st T20 Australia vs India Adelaide
29 January 2016 2nd T20 Australia vs India Melbourne
31 January 2016 3rd T20 Australia vs India Sydney

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top