Ricky Ponting holding cricket world cup trophy
ICC World Cup

List of ICC Cricket World Cup Winning Captains

ICC world cup is the pinnacle of cricket sport and winning the trophy makes special for country, team, players and the captain. The first ever cricket world cup was played in 1975 which was won by West Indies. Clive Lloyd was the first ever captain to lift ICC world cup.

The recent world cup trophy was lifted by English captain Eoin Morgan when England won 2019 edition at home. Clive Lloyd and Ricky Ponting are the two most successful captains of ICC world cup as they won it twice for respective countries West Indies and Australia.

Ricky Ponting holding cricket world cup trophy
Ricky Ponting holding cricket world cup trophy

Let’s checkout the list of captains who have won cricket world cup.

1975Clive LloydWest Indies
1979Clive LloydWest Indies
1983Kapil DevIndia
1987Allan BorderAustralia
1992Imran KhanPakistan
1996Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka
1999Steve WaughAustralia
2003Ricky PontingAustralia
2007Ricky PontingAustralia
2011MS DhoniIndia
2015Michael ClarkeAustralia
2019Eoin MorganEngland

The next edition of ICC cricket world cup 2023 will be played in India. Who do you think will add his name to the list?


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *