Sri Lanka Cricket Team at ICC World T20.
T20 World Cup

Sri Lanka Cricket Team at ICC World Twenty20

Sri Lanka are the most successful team in Twenty20 World Cup event as they have appeared in 3 ICC World T20 finals and succeeds to win title in 2014 tournament. Sri-Lanka were the runners-ups in 2009 and 2012 competitions where they lost finals against Pakistan and West Indies respectively.

Sri Lanka Cricket Team at ICC World T20.
2014 Winning ICC World T20 Sri Lankan Team

Records & Facts

(1). Sri Lanka holds the record of scoring highest runs by any team in a single match of ICC World Twenty20s. They made 260 runs for the loss of 6 wickets against Kenya in the inaugural edition.

(2). Mahela Jayawardene is the only batsman who scored 1000 runs ICC World T20. He made 1016 runs in 31 matches. He is the highest run scorer in tournament.

(3). Jayawardene is the only Sri-Lankan batsman to score a century in 20-20 world cup. He scored 100 against Zimbabwe in 2010 event at Providence, West Indies.

(4.) The highest partnership record in ICC World T-20 is also acquired by Sri-Lankan players. Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara added 166 runs for the second wicket partnership against West Indies in 2010.

(5). SL batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan holds the record of receiving maximum ducks in event. He got out without scoring single run on 5 occasions. Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi also got 5 ducks.

(6). Lasith Malinga has taken 38 wickets in previous editions of ICC world twenty20s and this is the highest number of wickets for any bowler.

(7). In 2014’s world t20 final against India, Sri-Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara was named Man of The Match for his 52 runs inning.

Check more: ICC World T20 winners list


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *